Shopping cart
You have no items in your shopping cart.

Product reviews for XXL Fontainebleau Sloper

*
*
Love it
Just had a chance to set up some routes and try out this large sloper.  Feels great and is lots of fun.  Using on a vertical wall for some open hand routes.
1/4/2013 2:36 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Fantastic
Bought this one with my fingers crossed since my home wall is 50 degrees overhung - so glad I did.  I'm a V4-5 climber and this hold is useable (and very fun) in a lot of different orientations.  Highly reccomended for steep walls!
2/6/2014 11:45 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/1)
Nice Font!
I’m impressed with the font texture and size.  Compared to a similar font purchased from Buddah holds, Atomiks’ seems like it will be less likely to gunk up with chalk in the cracks, and will be easier to clean.  The texture is great, and there is good variety in the hold’s modularity through angle-changes.
12/13/2019 5:31 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
awesome
I was impressed by the size and feel of this hold. It has great texture, and I love how it feels different from different angles.
1/9/2020 1:31 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very happy with this hold
I've been adding bigger holds to my wall lately just to add variety.  I'm really glad I got this one.  It's 9" wide, 7" tall and stands 3-1/4" off the wall.  I love how Atomik designs their holds to maximize flexibility.  Depending on how you rotate this hold is can be quite sloped or very positive.  It can definitely accommodate two hands and would make a great finish hold.  No set screw on this big hold but so far, it has not rotated with all the pushing, pulling, hanging, etc that I have done with it - very solid.  The Font texture is awesome because you can get the tips of your fingers in the little creases for better grip.  My hands are big enough that I can even pinch this thing on one end of it.  Keep it up Atomik.  Awesome stuff!!!
1/15/2020 8:37 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Versatile and good value
This hold is great! Useable on many angles and orientations. Never comes off my home wall and is a favorite
1/18/2020 3:31 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Matchable Sloper
This sloper works great as a open hand or positive wrapper on my vertical wall.  Its usable, but much harder on the 30 degree overhang, and works as a hard opposition hold on the 50 degree overhang.  Big enough for two hands and feels plenty grippy with the font texture.  Its simply a great value for your wall!
2/21/2020 7:29 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Excellent two-hand sloper
We use this primarily as a two-hand sloper hold. It's the kind of feature that stands out - we enjoy incorporating it into different problems, sometimes approaching it from the sides or different angles. As with most Atomik holds, it's very asymmetric and can be rotated to change the feel and difficulty. It feels V1 on near-vertical with the easier orientations, but that can ramp up fairly quickly on a steeper wall (ours is adjustable) and with less forgiving orientations. I think it's a sloper that can stay with you through a lot of skill and strength progression.
2/26/2020 11:32 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great hold
Have this on a large volume and can easily grab it from any angle. Texture is smooth, but still tons of grip. Easily cleanable and in bright orange looks great. I would rate a v2 on a vertical wall and can even be used as heel hook.
2/29/2020 8:19 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Open hand strength
On a 40 degree wall this hold can be anything from a v4-v7 hold. I love the versatility of the different sides. Route too easy? just spin this around and you'll have a whole new Crux. Super comfy texture. Cleans easy.
4/13/2020 2:15 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
So so good!
We purchased two of these holds for our 35 deg woody. We were hesitant because we didn't know how positive they would be. They are PERFECT! The seems in the hold allow for some texture to "grab" onto. Highly recommend if you are looking for a challenge.
4/15/2020 4:08 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Versatile
Able to grab onto this hold so many different ways. Even if you don't spin it there are so many different bubbles and seams that you can grab it 5 different ways. Pinch, open hand sloper, slopey crimp, thumb catches everywhere.  If you spin the hold there are almost infinite ways to hold this, very versatile. Have it on my 20 degree overhang and its perfect as a V5 boulderer.
5/3/2020 8:03 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Awesome looking hold!
Placed this on a wall at 30 degrees, texture is grippy not smooth, but not overly textured as its still a challenge to hold on at an angle. Used this on a problem using a lot of slopers, this one adds a nice rest in the middle without being too easy.
5/19/2020 2:48 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
One hold, many options
On a steep board, this is a very handy hold to add variety to sequences. Once you find a happy spot for it, a simple rotation brings usable changes. The challenge is where you'd want to drill a set screw if you plan to, since the all of hold's surface can be used depending on orientation.
5/28/2020 11:25 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Fun hold
makes for a pretty easy sloper at 20 degrees. rotate to make it hard, but it really can be pinched too if you have bigger hands.
6/30/2020 7:51 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Couldn't be better
A truly fantastic big sloper. Big enough to slap to it and grippy enough to stay on it. As other reviewers have said, it's varied enough that if its too hard or easy a move, just rotate it slightly and it becomes a very different feeling hold. I really love it. I got it in orange and it looks incredible on the wall. Its on a 30-degree wall right now and at its best angle, it can be the crux on a v4 but at its worst orientation, it could probably be the crux on a v7 or 8.
7/1/2020 7:41 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Fun Sloper
This is a great addition to any wall overhanging or vertical. I have this on my 30 degree wall and it serves its purpose well as either a start hold or hold for mid problem. I am able to use it to pull off the ground on as well as hold on to it mid problem too. It can be rather challenging on a steep wall if your struggle with open hand crimps or slopers. I am glad it is on my wall. Nice size hold too, depending on you bolt hole spacing it potentially could cover another bolt hole or two.
7/1/2020 8:59 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great choice
I have 2 of these to play around with.  On my vertical wall it offers great practice with slopers for a newer climber.  On my 20 degree wall it offers more than enough of a challenge, particularly with your ability to rotate it to increase the difficulty to your liking.
7/4/2020 1:03 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Fun hold
nothing striking about any particular angle on this hold, but when you get to it you keep re adjusting to find that perfect spot! very challenging on angles past 25 but gives you a bunch  of plastic to pull on
7/4/2020 6:11 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great variety
Excellent size and value hold.  Love the variety of ways to use this depending on the angle and rotation.  My only request would maybe be a set-screw hole but for the most part it doesn't need it.  Psyched that I got three of these for a 5-degree and 20-degree overhung wall.
7/22/2020 12:33 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Pull, Send, Spin, Repeat!
Seriously, so many ways you can spin this! On my 15 degree wall, this has quickly become one of my favorite starting holds! As soon as I “handle” it, I spin it and the struggle is back on! Such a great deal, this will become one of your new favorites, you probsbly outta buy 2!
7/25/2020 11:41 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Must Have
I got this to round out the set of 5 XL Font Slopers we already had. Beautiful asymmetric shape that now gives us the option for a fully functional Font route on either of our walls. It’s currently on a volume on the 60 and it’s still a challenging hold to work with. So much PU for not that much money, can’t really beat that.
7/29/2020 11:36 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Favorite hold
I can't find an orientation (on my flat wall) that doesn't give me a great grip on this. My most commented on hold on the wall.
8/1/2020 10:34 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Good value hold
I got this hold because it seems like such a good value in terms of size vs price, and slopers are particularly pricey.

On a 30 degree wall, I can definitely hold on to the sloper at its easiest orientation and I climb about V3 in the gym.

It's good that I can rotate this hold to adjust the difficulty in the future.

There is no set screw. So far the hold seems solid and does not spin. Probably I will add a buddy hold to push against it.
8/4/2020 5:24 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The bees knees
This one not only looks like a ton of fun, it really is. I can adjust by twisting it. It's big. I find all sorts of catches on it and adds a personality to any route
8/4/2020 7:17 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
2 hands with a tight grip
This is a really nice sloper and can accommodate my two big hands.  It's gives many option when you rotate the hold.  I have it on my vertical wall section as when I had it on the 15 degree overhang it posed a really challenge I need to work up to.
8/8/2020 5:13 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Love This Hold
LOVE this hold, and really the entire Font series. So realistic, with many different possibilities by rotating. Will need a second.
8/20/2020 4:39 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Rad Sloper
Installed on my 40 degree wall. At this angle, there is no jug option, however, there are at least three options to choose from in how you set it. If you are looking for a hold that is hard to hang onto, you found it. Easiest problem at 40 degrees is likely V5.
8/20/2020 11:09 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
big and versatile
I bought this for the 45 degree section of my homewall.  It's not as positive as I was expecting, but the hold changes a lot depending on how it is rotated.  Nonetheless, without great feet there's no way I'm holding onto this with both hands on that much of an overhang (I'm a V5/V6 climber at my local gym).  I've found that it works great when I set it on a large volume so that it's at a different angle than the rest of my wall.
9/4/2020 9:20 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Versatile sloper/wide pinch
One axis has easier/harder slopers.  90 deg rotation gives wide pinches for my big hands. Intermediate rotations throw some sidepull into the mix.  On my 15 deg wall it's versatile enough to  be fun and challenging for me (V4-5) and my kids (V0-V1).

This one always seems to find a way onto the wall.
9/10/2020 7:53 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Challenging, fun, great value
I'm typically a V3-V4 climber.  I put this on a 30 deg overhang and I love the addition.  It is the most challenging sloper I have currently, and it has me at my limit.  I need to keep playing with it, but with the right footwork, I think I can make this a two hand match.  I love the texture.  Great hold for the price.
9/13/2020 3:31 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Now that's a nice sloper!
Super awesome sloper that can be quite the challenge at 45 degrees. The texture is definitely different from the wide font pinches, but overall super worth it for the price. A great addition to the home wall!
9/21/2020 11:11 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Perfect steep wall sloper
I have a 40 degree wall and this is the perfect steep wall sloper, and you will not find a better price. The lines and texture make it challenging but usable. I’m a v4/v5 climber
9/24/2020 9:59 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)